The solar system for kids

The Solar System is a subject that arouses curiosity in many children from an early age. For this reason, it is important that parents are prepared to explain to their children what the Solar System is and what planets, in addition to Earth, orbit the Sun. In the Infant Stage, we offer you a clear and simple explanation so that children understand how the Solar System is structured and what are the main celestial bodies that make it up.

What is the solar system?

Basically, the Solar System is a system made up of planets and celestial bodies such as comets or natural satellites, which rotate in orbit around the largest and most powerful star of all: the Sun. The system belongs to the Milky Way, one of the so many galaxies that make up the Universe, and specifically it is located in the Orion arm of this spiral galaxy.

The Solar System formed about 4.6 billion years ago. One of the most accepted theories states that it all started with the collapse of an immense cloud of gas and cosmic dust as a result of the effects of the force of gravity. Much of that matter accumulated in the center and became hotter and hotter, thus the Sun emerged. Around the Sun, the remaining dust and gas was gathering together by its own force of gravity and gave way to protoplanets, which were later destroyed or fused together to create the planets, dwarf planets, and celestial bodies that we know today.

The great star, the planets and other astronomical bodies that make up the Solar System

The Sun is the only star that emits its own light and the largest of all, in fact, it is made up of 99.85% of the matter in the Solar System. Its existence determines from the seasons on our planet Earth to the sequence of day and night, as well as being the main source of energy for life. In its orbit there are eight planets, which are nothing more than cosmic bodies that revolve around them, in hydrostatic equilibrium and with orbital dominance.

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune

Planets of the solar system for kids to print

The Earth, the planet on which we live, has a rounded shape, a bit flattened in the area of ​​the poles, and is characterized by two important movements: rotation, which means that the planet rotates on itself, and translation , the movement it describes around the Sun. Our planet is covered 70% by water and is the only astronomical body in which the existence of life is known, since it arose about 4,000 million years ago.

In the Solar System there are also dwarf planets, which differ from planets because they have not cleared the neighborhood of their orbit, while having a lower mass.


  1. Ceres
  2. Pluto
  3. Haumea
  4. Makemake
  5. Eris

There are also satellites that are characterized by “orbiting” around the planets. Some are small, but there are others large, such as the Moon.

Likewise, the Solar System includes other minor bodies such as asteroids, comets and meteoroids, which are nothing more than remains of the formation of the Solar System or fragments of comets or asteroids or rocks of planets or satellites that have been detached as result of a great impact.